COMM-2



OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

MEMORANDUM

October 25, 2017

TO: City Council

FROM: Mayor Gregor Robertson

SUBJECT: Metro Vancouver - Appointment of Board of Director Voting Strength

The City of Vancouver is currently has seven Council members on the Metro Vancouver Board of Directors. The number of members and assigned voting rights are set out in the Local Government Act and the Metro Vancouver Letters Patent. The number of directors assigned to each member municipality is based on population. Each representative is assigned one vote for every 20,000 people to a maximum of five votes.

In July 2017, Councillor Geoff Meggs resigned from Council creating a vacancy on the Metro Vancouver Board. Subsequently, Council appointed Councillor Adriane Carr as director and Councillor George Affleck as alternate. The current Council Metro Vancouver Board representatives and their voting strength are as follows:

| Directors | Alternates | # Votes |
|--------------------------|------------------------------|---------|
| Mayor Gregor Robertson | Councillor Elizabeth Ball | 5 |
| Councillor Raymond Louie | Councillor Elizabeth Ball | 5 |
| Councillor Andrea Reimer | Councillor Elizabeth Ball | 5 |
| Councillor Tim Stevenson | Councillor George Affleck | 4 |
| Councillor Heather Deal | Councillor Melissa De Genova | 4 |
| Councillor Kerry Jang | Councillor Elizabeth Ball | 4 |
| Councillor Adriane Carr | Councillor George Affleck | 4 |

The City was recently informed by Metro Vancouver that as a result of the 2016 census, effective November 1, 2017, the City of Vancouver voting strength will increase from 31 to 32 votes. Accordingly, I RECOMMEND the following:

THAT Council approve an increase in the Metro Vancouver Board voting strength of Councillor Heather Deal (alternate Councillor Melissa De Genova) from four to five votes effective November 1, 2017.

